Valentine Prep = purging power of castor oil + pulling power of jasmine

I believe the 2 key oils in the run-up to Valentine’s Day are the unfairly maligned castor oil and exotic jasmine. The nose intrigues me (covered in my MA dissertation) and the power of scents to trigger powerful memories, passion, and horror in equal measure.

Since I have lived in Dominica I have been blessed to have met and worked with some of the leading herbalists in the Caribbean. Their wisdom about plants is humbling and inspiring.

It was the Barbadian biochemist Ras Collins at the Health and Culture Rejuvenation Seminar last October who put me back in touch with the power of castor oil as one of the 4 simple but key ways in the Caribbean that we used to keep ourselves ticking over nicely.

Castor oil has such strong medicinal benefits that it is also known as “Palma Christi” or the hand of Christ. Below are some castor seeds.

castor-seeds

Discussing this famed oil with my aunt recently, she kindly and dramatically re-enacted her odour-minimising tactic whenever she had to take the dreaded castor oil before going back to school.

This tradition of taking it before start of school in September has fallen out of favour and our stomachs are paying for it. I remember an Italian oncologist telling me that stomach cancer has been on the rise because we eat so many refined foods which just stay and rot in the intestines (18-24 feet long so plenty hose to clog up!) – so cousin Lize, please cut down on that KFC habit…..

So another aunt was surprised and thought me weird (nothing new) when I requested some castor oil but luckily she pandered to me. She has alot of herb wisdom herself that she is not even aware of, it just trips off her tongue. I normally do a yogic intestinal cleanse called poorna shankhasprakshalasana, PSP for short, but I do this with an established group in London and it is hard to set up on your own. So how can I do something local?

So back to castor oil. What to do? The Four S trick.

  • Slide a big dollop of castor oil into a glass of squeezed sour orange juice
  • Smile
  • Swallow
  • Squat in the vicinity of a water closet.

Then you can really appreciate the food you will eat later.

Now, back to the sweeter smelling jasmine…

Ras Bobby recommends women to wear jasmine oil if they want someone to say yes.

So be careful what you ask for, you may just get it…..

82117822

~ by gyandhara on January 13, 2009.

One Response to “Valentine Prep = purging power of castor oil + pulling power of jasmine”

  1. Love this entry. Do you know anywhere in Dominica I can get Jasmine essential oil? I hear it’s great for your hair

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

