Talking Tubs – Dominica’s Eco-Fest 1-8 May 2009

Today I was tired and grumpy and did not do the “sensible” thing of continuing to pretend to work but followed my body’s urge to hike a bit up to Ti Kwen Glo Cho where Jem Winston of Rosalie Forest was already tucking into June’s tasty coal-pot cooked lunches eaten out of calabash.

Tempting Tubs at Ti Kwen Glo Cho

Tempting Tubs at Ti Kwen Glo Cho

Down in the tubs, we got deeper into Jem’s personal story as to why he created the Eco-Fest 1-8 May 2009. He sees it as a celebration of what has been achieved so far in living more sustainably, and to acknowledge all the talent and resources that are right in our own backyard. Dominican reggae artist Free Joseph will be the lead musical act on the opening night, Friday 1st May.

We then discussed my ideas in creating the “Yoga As A Path to Wellness and Wholeness Day” which I shall be co-leading with my mate Terri Henry. A few of us got into a long discussion about what it means to be a leader and the importance of staying joyous whilst leading otherwise no-one wants to take you place when you drop from exhaustion! I  persuaded Jem, I think,  to build a labyrinth on the grounds as a meditation space that will stay after the Eco-Fest.


So today I ended up taking care of my body and my business. Can’t get better than that.


~ by gyandhara on February 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
