Oscar-winning Documentary The Cove

Well, I finally got to see The Cove last Thursday at Harlem Plaza.

I cannot imagine having the job of being a Japanese fisherman who for 6 months a year swims in the distressed energy and blood of dying dolphins. I now work with colleagues who have for years swam daily with dolphins. It changes your consciousness at a level which is beyond the understanding of how most of us live our daily life. You become aware of the whole, how we all all interconnected and your role in that whether that is to play, protect, or just be still in that moment.

Our Caribbean brethren were not shown in an admiring light – literally asleep at the helm. Dominica was singled out for having changed its position and is now voting against whaling.

And I see how this country hungers for “development” but does not see the potential before its eyes. And this blind hunger for the holy grail of development stops them seeing what needs to happen now to create a future – team-work/collaboration being one area where I see things hitting the rocks time and time again. We struggle to acknowledge and love each other in business and wonder why things don’t work out. And the victimhood of “it is so difficult to do things here” is a very cosy place after a while. You can’t fail there, only whine. We each have a piece of the puzzle to sew together, and on our own, things are dry, and not much is created that is of beauty, magic and joy, leaving us with a big smile on our face when we sit in the rocking chair in years to come, and tell the stories of the adventures we had in creating a Dominica that is a jewel in the world crown.

So I am taking a few gulps this year in terms of what I see is possible.

Having recently come out of a 4 month virtual Deep Dive Retreat as part of my involvement with Gene Keys, I feel like I am coming up to the surface and seeing things differently. More about my Gene Keys work in another post…

~ by gyandhara on March 14, 2010.

4 Responses to “Oscar-winning Documentary The Cove”

  1. Thanks the author for article. The main thing do not forget about users, and continue in the same spirit.

    • Hi Zarema,

      Thanks for taking the time to respond. If, by writing “do not forget about users”, do you mean in terms of clarity of what I wrote? It was a raw piece as the film and what was happening for me at the time stirred a lot.

  2. The subject is fully clear but why does the text lack clarity? But in general your blog is great.

    • Hi

      Thanks for your feedback. Re-reading my blog I can see how it lacks my usual clarity. The film stirred a lot of issues and emotions as some of he film clips happened on home-turf and I know the people involved. And I was being human, raw, messy, unclear and to have that reflected back is powerful. I have tweaked a few things since first posting it.

Leave a Reply

 
